Ibsen Scholarships 2014

For innovative projects in the field of drama and performing arts

4 February 2014 by Roy Southil

Henrik Ibsen Scholarship 2014

Henrik Ibsen

The Ibsen Scholarships are awarded for innovative projects in the field of drama and performing arts that act as incentives for critical discourse in regards to existential and society-related subject matters concerning Henrik Ibsen and his plays. The Ibsen Scholarships were initiated  by the Norwegian government in 2007 and the first award was given in 2008. Ibsen Awards has till now handed out 23 scholarships to projects in 17 different countries.

Value: Scholarship funds amounting to NOK 1,000,000,- (approx. 120.000 Euro/162.000 US Dollars/Rs.1 crore) will be awarded to projects worldwide. The prize is awarded every two years, and the winner receives 2.5 million Norwegian kroner (approx. €300,000). There are no conditions attached to accepting the prize.

Eligibility: Scholarships are applicable to individuals, organizations or institutions within the artistic and cultural community.

How to apply: By nominations. The right to nominate is open to everyone. Self nominations are not accepted. Nominations are strictly confidential. Persons submitting nominations are bound by an agreement not to disclose the nomination to the nominee or to others until after the winner is announced. You are welcome to nominate an individual, institution or organisation that you think has brought a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre.

How to nominate: The nomination can be submitted by
a) using the nomination form on this site
b) by e-mail to intl.ibsenaward@nationaltheatret.no
c) by post to International Ibsen Award, c/o Nationaltheatret, Postboks 1225 Vika, 0110 Oslo-Norway. Note that we are unable to return any material submitted.

The nomination letter must be written in English and contain a biography or CV of the nominee and well-founded arguments explaining how and why the individual, institution or organisation has brought a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre. It must also contain two or three suggested referees who know and can provide additional information about the candidate’s work.

Further information: intl.ibsenaward@nationaltheatret.no

The application deadline: April 30th 2014.

The selection process: The committee will receive nominations and will consider these after the deadline expires. The committee members travel worldwide to see performances linked to nominated parties and have several meetings before deciding on a winner. A winner is announced on Ibsen’s birthday, the 20th March, with the official award ceremony and press conference taking place at the National Theatre’s Ibsen Festival the following September.

The award ceremony: The winners of The Ibsen Scholarships 2014 will be presented at Skien International Ibsen Conference on September 22nd and 23rd  in Skien, Ibsen’s home town, Norway.
Visit scholarship page

Great scholarships at Anglia Ruskin University UK

Scholarship for study in Netherlands

Scholarships for MBA at University of Birmingham

If you found the information useful please comment in the comment box below


Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship

Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship

14 December 2013 by Roy Southil

History of the Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship
Bioversity International established the Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship in 1989 in memory of the unique and pioneering contributions to plant science made by Academician Nikolai Ivanovich Vavilov of Russia and Sir Otto Frankel of Australia. The fellowship is being supported by the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC), Australia.  Read more…

About Bioversity International
Bioversity International is a research organization that provides scientific evidence of the role that on-farm and wild agricultural and forest biodiversity can play in a more nutritious, resilient, productive and adaptable food and agricultural system. Read more…

How Bioversity International works
Bioversity International works towards a world in which smallholder farming and forest communities in developing countries are thriving and sustainable. They work on rain-fed farming and forest systems managed by smallholder farmers in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Read more…

Subject: Conservation and use of agricultural and forest biodiversity. Research on grain species relevant to both Australia and the applicant’s home country. The research involves collaboration with an academic institution outside of the fellows’ home countries.

Duration: Up to 12 months.

Eligibility: Applicants must be nationals of a country of low or medium human development according to the Human Development Index. Should not be more than 35 years of age at the time of application. Applicants should at least hold a Master’s degree (or equivalent) in a relevant subject area.

Eligible countries: Applicants from Norway, Australia, United States, Netherlands, Germany, New Zealand, Ireland, Sweden, Switzerland, Japan, Canada, Korea (Republic of), Hong Kong, China (SAR), Iceland, Denmark, Israel, Belgium, Austria, Singapore, France, Finland, Slovenia, Spain, Liechtenstein, Italy, Luxembourg, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Greece, Brunei Darussalam, Cyprus, Malta, Andorra, Estonia, Slovakia, Qatar, Hungary, Barbados, Poland, Chile, Lithuania, United Arab Emirates, Portugal, Latvia, Argentina, Seychelles, Croatia, Bahrain, Bahamas, Belarus, Uruguay, Montenegro, Palau, Kuwait, Russian Federation, Romania, Bulgaria, Saudi Arabia, Cuba, Panama, Mexico, Costa Rica, Grenada, Libya, Malaysia, Serbia, Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, Kazakhstan, Albania, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Dominica, Georgia, Lebanon, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Peru, The former Yugoslav, Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, Mauritius, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Oman, Brazil, Jamaica, Armenia, Saint Lucia, Ecuador, Turkey, Colombia, Sri Lanka, Algeria, Tunisia, Tonga, Belize, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Samoa, Jordan, China, Turkmenistan, Thailand, Maldives, Suriname, Gabon, El Salvador, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Mongolia, Palestine (State of), Paraguay, Egypt, Moldova (Republic of), Philippines, Uzbekistan, Syrian Arab Republic, Micronesia (Federated States of), Guyana, Botswana, Honduras, Indonesia, Kiribati, South Africa, Vanuatu, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Vietnam, Namibia, Nicaragua, Morocco, Iraq, Cape Verde, Guatemala, Timor-Leste, Ghana, Equatorial Guinea, India, Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Bhutan, Swaziland, Congo, Solomon Islands, São Tome and Principe, Kenya, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Angola, Myanmar, Cameroon, Madagascar, Tanzania (United Republic of), Nigeria, Senegal, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Lesotho, Togo, Yemen, Haiti, Uganda, Zambia, Djibouti, Gambia, Benin, Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Malawi, Sudan, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Liberia, Afghanistan, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Burundi, Guinea, Central African Republic, Eritrea, Mali, Burkina Faso, Chad, Mozambique, Congo (Democratic Republic of the), Niger) are eligible for this research fellowship.

Value: Up to US$ 20,000

Tenable at: International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA), the International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), (members of CGIAR Consortium).

How to apply: Application form and information on how to apply can be had from Vavilov Frankel Fellowship page. Applications may be submitted in English, French or Spanish. Applications should be submitted online.

Further information: Can be had from the Knowledge Management & Capacity Strengthening (KMCS) Unit, Bioversity International.
email: kmcs@cgiar.org
Website: Bioversityinternational.

Was the information useful ?