Ibsen Scholarships 2014

For innovative projects in the field of drama and performing arts

4 February 2014 by Roy Southil

Henrik Ibsen Scholarship 2014

Henrik Ibsen

The Ibsen Scholarships are awarded for innovative projects in the field of drama and performing arts that act as incentives for critical discourse in regards to existential and society-related subject matters concerning Henrik Ibsen and his plays. The Ibsen Scholarships were initiated  by the Norwegian government in 2007 and the first award was given in 2008. Ibsen Awards has till now handed out 23 scholarships to projects in 17 different countries.

Value: Scholarship funds amounting to NOK 1,000,000,- (approx. 120.000 Euro/162.000 US Dollars/Rs.1 crore) will be awarded to projects worldwide. The prize is awarded every two years, and the winner receives 2.5 million Norwegian kroner (approx. €300,000). There are no conditions attached to accepting the prize.

Eligibility: Scholarships are applicable to individuals, organizations or institutions within the artistic and cultural community.

How to apply: By nominations. The right to nominate is open to everyone. Self nominations are not accepted. Nominations are strictly confidential. Persons submitting nominations are bound by an agreement not to disclose the nomination to the nominee or to others until after the winner is announced. You are welcome to nominate an individual, institution or organisation that you think has brought a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre.

How to nominate: The nomination can be submitted by
a) using the nomination form on this site
b) by e-mail to intl.ibsenaward@nationaltheatret.no
c) by post to International Ibsen Award, c/o Nationaltheatret, Postboks 1225 Vika, 0110 Oslo-Norway. Note that we are unable to return any material submitted.

The nomination letter must be written in English and contain a biography or CV of the nominee and well-founded arguments explaining how and why the individual, institution or organisation has brought a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre. It must also contain two or three suggested referees who know and can provide additional information about the candidate’s work.

Further information: intl.ibsenaward@nationaltheatret.no

The application deadline: April 30th 2014.

The selection process: The committee will receive nominations and will consider these after the deadline expires. The committee members travel worldwide to see performances linked to nominated parties and have several meetings before deciding on a winner. A winner is announced on Ibsen’s birthday, the 20th March, with the official award ceremony and press conference taking place at the National Theatre’s Ibsen Festival the following September.

The award ceremony: The winners of The Ibsen Scholarships 2014 will be presented at Skien International Ibsen Conference on September 22nd and 23rd  in Skien, Ibsen’s home town, Norway.
Visit scholarship page

Great scholarships at Anglia Ruskin University UK

Scholarship for study in Netherlands

Scholarships for MBA at University of Birmingham

If you found the information useful please comment in the comment box below


Charles Wallace India Trust Residencies for Translators

Charles Wallace India Trust Residencies for Translators


BCLT University of East Anglia

Tenable at: British Centre for Literary Translation. University of East Anglia. These residencies offer translators from India the opportunity to spend two months at the University of East Anglia working on a translation project of their choice. Fellows are strongly encouraged to engage in the academic, cultural and social life of the faculty. Applicants will get  opportunities to lead seminars for post-graduate students, present papers and talk about work in progress.

Duration: The residencies will begin in mid April 2014  and run for 8 weeks.

Value: The Fellowship will normally cover all accommodation and living expenses for a period of residence lasting up to eight weeks and also contributes to the cost of international travel. Each CWIT Fellow will be resident on campus in a single-person self-catering flat within easy access of university catering outlets.

When to apply: Applications for Charles Wallace India Trust Residencies 2014 will be open later this autumn (September, October, November). Further details about how to apply will be posted on the website of British Centre for Literary Translation, University of East Anglia, in September.

British Centre for Literary Translation
School of Literature, Drama and Creative Writing
University of East Anglia
Norwich Research Park
Norwich NR4 7TJ
tel 01603 592785 fax01603 592737
email bclt@uea.ac.uk
To visit website click here