Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship

Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship

14 December 2013 by Roy Southil

History of the Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship
Bioversity International established the Vavilov-Frankel Fellowship in 1989 in memory of the unique and pioneering contributions to plant science made by Academician Nikolai Ivanovich Vavilov of Russia and Sir Otto Frankel of Australia. The fellowship is being supported by the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC), Australia.  Read more…

About Bioversity International
Bioversity International is a research organization that provides scientific evidence of the role that on-farm and wild agricultural and forest biodiversity can play in a more nutritious, resilient, productive and adaptable food and agricultural system. Read more…

How Bioversity International works
Bioversity International works towards a world in which smallholder farming and forest communities in developing countries are thriving and sustainable. They work on rain-fed farming and forest systems managed by smallholder farmers in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Read more…

Subject: Conservation and use of agricultural and forest biodiversity. Research on grain species relevant to both Australia and the applicant’s home country. The research involves collaboration with an academic institution outside of the fellows’ home countries.

Duration: Up to 12 months.

Eligibility: Applicants must be nationals of a country of low or medium human development according to the Human Development Index. Should not be more than 35 years of age at the time of application. Applicants should at least hold a Master’s degree (or equivalent) in a relevant subject area.

Eligible countries: Applicants from Norway, Australia, United States, Netherlands, Germany, New Zealand, Ireland, Sweden, Switzerland, Japan, Canada, Korea (Republic of), Hong Kong, China (SAR), Iceland, Denmark, Israel, Belgium, Austria, Singapore, France, Finland, Slovenia, Spain, Liechtenstein, Italy, Luxembourg, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Greece, Brunei Darussalam, Cyprus, Malta, Andorra, Estonia, Slovakia, Qatar, Hungary, Barbados, Poland, Chile, Lithuania, United Arab Emirates, Portugal, Latvia, Argentina, Seychelles, Croatia, Bahrain, Bahamas, Belarus, Uruguay, Montenegro, Palau, Kuwait, Russian Federation, Romania, Bulgaria, Saudi Arabia, Cuba, Panama, Mexico, Costa Rica, Grenada, Libya, Malaysia, Serbia, Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, Kazakhstan, Albania, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Dominica, Georgia, Lebanon, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Peru, The former Yugoslav, Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, Mauritius, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Oman, Brazil, Jamaica, Armenia, Saint Lucia, Ecuador, Turkey, Colombia, Sri Lanka, Algeria, Tunisia, Tonga, Belize, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Samoa, Jordan, China, Turkmenistan, Thailand, Maldives, Suriname, Gabon, El Salvador, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Mongolia, Palestine (State of), Paraguay, Egypt, Moldova (Republic of), Philippines, Uzbekistan, Syrian Arab Republic, Micronesia (Federated States of), Guyana, Botswana, Honduras, Indonesia, Kiribati, South Africa, Vanuatu, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Vietnam, Namibia, Nicaragua, Morocco, Iraq, Cape Verde, Guatemala, Timor-Leste, Ghana, Equatorial Guinea, India, Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Bhutan, Swaziland, Congo, Solomon Islands, São Tome and Principe, Kenya, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Angola, Myanmar, Cameroon, Madagascar, Tanzania (United Republic of), Nigeria, Senegal, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Lesotho, Togo, Yemen, Haiti, Uganda, Zambia, Djibouti, Gambia, Benin, Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Malawi, Sudan, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Liberia, Afghanistan, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Burundi, Guinea, Central African Republic, Eritrea, Mali, Burkina Faso, Chad, Mozambique, Congo (Democratic Republic of the), Niger) are eligible for this research fellowship.

Value: Up to US$ 20,000

Tenable at: International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), the International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA), the International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), (members of CGIAR Consortium).

How to apply: Application form and information on how to apply can be had from Vavilov Frankel Fellowship page. Applications may be submitted in English, French or Spanish. Applications should be submitted online.

Further information: Can be had from the Knowledge Management & Capacity Strengthening (KMCS) Unit, Bioversity International.
Website: Bioversityinternational.

Was the information useful ?